Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Consis

Consis
contact:

project group:

WG1: Process Engineering

funding:

Industry project

startdate:

08/2009

enddate:

04/2011

Consis

Project name: Analysis and semantic structuring of product information with the example – distribution & sales (Consis)

 

Keywords:  heterogeneous data sets, knowledge management, ontology-based information retrieval, classification schemes

 

 

Issues & Challenges:

Data and information on developed products, as well as any associated documents often exist in several of the companies’ departments. The different information types need to be differentiated:

  • Textual information – information presented through alphanumeric characters
  • Graphic information – information in the form of diagrams, graphs, drawings, sketches
  • Image information – information presented through general objects and their correlations
  • Film information – information presented through general actions, processes, dynamic procedures
  • Audio information – recordings of mostly natural targets (tones, sounds, language) or synthetically manufactured acoustic information

The magnitude of digital data grows exponentially over time during the product development phase. The complexity of the problem is increasing due to the unavailability of adequate information logistics concerning the variety of sources and their presentation formats. This is furthermore complicated by the fact that technical data generated in the product development processes is supposed to be interdepartmentally accessible. The improvement of the access to the relevant product information – and at the same time its analysis and structuring – is perceived as a great challenge.

 

Objectives:

The objective of this industrial research was the development of a concept for the analysis and structuring of product information, which supports the user in the administration and procurement of relevant information from a heterogeneous data set (e.g. documents, files), by means of a unified terminology. The following sub objectives can be defined:

  1. Survey of the enterprise systems and their generated output information. The priority within this activity lies on the examination of the relevance of the output, as well as on enhancing existing terminology, should this be necessary.
  2. Examination of the heterogeneous system landscape with regard to generation of data. The manner in which data/information is entered into the systems is most important here. The data is often still inserted manually by the user. Therefore, ways of how to automate the information procurement have to be investigated. The information’s origin should also be retraced, in order to comprehensibly document the development background.
  3. Identifying the interactions between the enterprise systems. The systems should be analyzed, in order to discover the dependencies between data/information used by the systems. These dependencies can then be used to reduce the information redundancy often encountered in enterprise systems.
  4. Analysis of possible information structures with regard to usability. The structure of the information is essential for its efficient application. However, not every structure is suited for all information content. Therefore, possible visualization methods (e.g. sequential structure, hierarchical, structures, column-based structures etc.) have to be analyzed and evaluated in the course of this research.

 

Research Strategy & Solution Statement:

A feasible approach consists of generating an interdepartmental, application-oriented nomenclature or classification. This can result in improved possibilities being created for linking requirements to new products with information from different areas of the company, such as development and construction, distribution etc. Furthermore, the relevant information can be obtained from the data and be stored in a database. Access to the information is ensured through a web-based platform. Furthermore, in parallel to the sub objectives defined, the following research tasks are outlined:

  • Development of a cross departemental concept for a controlled generation, processing and disitribution of product information throught an neterprise.
  • Analysis of the implications of newly generated customer feedback on the enterprise processes and IT-systems
  • Development of functional interdisciplinary classification scheme
  • Conception and implementation of an ontology-based intelligent knowledge management system and integration of this system into the existing system landscape
  • Development of a concept for an ontology-based information search.
  • Evaluation of the performance of the ontology-based information search in predefined use cases.

Figure 1 Knowledge Management System

 

Consortium:

      Daimler AG

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Consis

Consis
Projektgruppe:

AG1: Prozess Engineering

Förderung:

Industrieprojekt

Starttermin:

08/2009

Endtermin:

04/2011

Consis

Projektname: Analysieren und Strukturieren von Produktinformation im Vertrieb (Consis)

 

Schlagwörter: heterogene Daten, Wissensmanagement, ontologie-basierte Suche, interdisziplinären Klassifikationschemen

 

Problemstellung:

Daten und Informationen über entwickelte Produkte sowie in diesem Zusammenhang dazugehörige Dokumente liegen des Öfteren in unterschiedlichen Abteilungen der Unternehmen vor. Hierbei sind verschiedene Informationsarten zu differenzieren:

  • Textuelle Information – Text repräsentiert durch alphanummerische Zeichen
  • Graphische Information – Information in Form von Diagrammen, Graphen, Zeichnungen, Skizzen
  • Bildinformation – Information repräsentiert im allgemeinen Objekte und deren Beziehungen
  • Filminformation – Information repräsentiert im allgemeinen Handlungen, Prozesse, dynamische Vorgänge
  • Audioinformation – Aufnahmen meist natürlicher Vorgaben (Töne, Geräusche, Sprache) oder synthetisch hergestellte akustische Information

Die Menge der digitalen Daten wächst beispielsweise während der Produktentstehungsphase exponentiell mit der Zeit. Die Komplexität dieses Problems steigt, aufgrund fehlender adäquater Informationslogistik in Bezug auf die Vielfalt der Quellen und deren Repräsentationsformate. Darüber hinaus wird diese Problematik dadurch erschwert, dass technische Daten, die aus Produktentstehungsprozessen entstehen, abteilungsübergreifend zugänglich gemacht werden sollen. Die Verbesserung des Zuganges zu den relevanten Produktinformationen – und damit deren Analyse und Strukturierung – wird als große Herausforderung gesehen.

 

Zielsetzung:

Das Ziel des Projektes ist die Erstellung eines Konzeptes zur Analyse und Strukturierung von Produktinformationen, welches den Nutzer bei der anwendungsorientierten Verwaltung und Bereitstellung der relevanten Informationen aus einem heterogenen Datenbestand (z.B. Dokumente, Daten von Produkten) unterstützt. Die Unterstützung soll dabei anhand einer einheitlichen Terminologie (Klassifikation) erfolgen. Als Teilziele sind definiert:

  1. Ermittlung der eingesetzten Systeme und deren Output-Informationen. Der Fokus ist dabei auf die Überprüfung der Relevanz der Output-Informationen und Vervollständigung bzw. Erweiterung der bestehenden Terminologie zu legen.
  2. Untersuchung der heterogenen Systemlandschaft in Hinblick auf die Erzeugung der Daten. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt dabei auf der Feststellung der Art, wie die Daten/Informationen in das System eingepflegt werden. Zum Teil ist es so, dass die Daten manuell vom Anwender in das System eingegeben werden. Hierzu sollen mögliche Aspekte der Automatisierung von Informationsgewinnung beleuchtet werden. Zusätzlich soll der Ursprung der Information ausfindig gemacht werden, um die Entstehungshistorie nachvollziehbar zu dokumentieren.
  3. Aufzeigen von gegenseitiger Vernetzung der Systeme untereinander. Die eingesetzten Systeme sollen analysiert werden, so dass mögliche wechselseitige Beeinflussung entdeckt werden kann. Folglich kann der Informationsredundanz entgegengewirkt werden.
  4. Aufzeigen von möglichen Strukturierungsarten der Information hinsichtlich der Kommunikation mit dem Anwender. Bei der Visualisierung von Information äußert sich Strukturierung im Layout. Die Struktur ist entscheidend für die Effizienz der Kommunikation von Information. Da nicht jeder Strukturtyp sich für jeden Informationssachverhalt eignet, sollen im Rahmen des Projektes geeignete Visualisierungsarten untersucht werden. (z.B. sequentielle Struktur, hierarchische Struktur, tabellarische Struktur etc.)

Lösungsansatz/Konzept:

Ein möglicher Lösungsansatz besteht in der Generierung einer abteilungsübergreifenden, anwendungsorientierten Nomenklatur bzw. Klassifikation. Dadurch können verbesserte Möglichkeiten geschaffen werden, Anforderungen an Neuprodukte mit Information aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen des Unternehmens z.B. Entwicklung und Konstruktion, Vertrieb etc. zu verknüpfen. Des Weiteren wird die relevante Information aus einer Datenmenge gewonnen und in Wissensbasis abgelegt. Der Informationszugriff wird über eine webbasierte Plattform gewährleistet. Darüber hinaus sind folgende inhaltliche Arbeitsschwerpunkte für die nächsten Schritte definiert:

  • Entwicklung eines abteilungsübergreifenden Konzepts zur kontrollierten Entstehung, Aufbereitung und Weitergabe von Produktinformation
  • Analyse der Auswirkungen von neugenerierter Information aus Kundenkommunikation auf die Unternehmensprozesse und Systemlandschaft
  • Entwicklung einer funktionsorientierten, interdisziplinären Klassifikation und Erweiterung der bestehenden durch diese
  • Konzeption und Entwicklung eines ontologiebasierten intelligenten Wissens- managementsystems
  • Integration des Wissensmanagementsystems in die bestehende Systemlandschaft
  • Entwicklung eines Konzepts zur ontologiebasierten Suche
  • Bewertung der Potentiale der ontologiebasierten Suche anhand von Anwendungsszenarien

 

Abbildung 1 Layout des Wissensmanagementsystems

 

Consortium:

      Daimler AG