Home | deutsch | Legals | KIT

Welcome to the Institute for Information Management in Engineering

Jivka Ovtcharova
Jivka Ovtcharova

No Competitiveness without Innovation

Today more than ever, companies require fast and targeted innovation processes in order to produce technically and economically superior products. Market drivers are basic individual, social, and commercial trends, e.g. many customers perceive technical products increasingly on an emotional level. Other trends include changing demographic structures, higher environmental awareness and mobility, global interconnectedness of corporations and markets as well as the interdisciplinarity of modern technical products.  It has become one of the main challenges of the developing and manufacturing industry to master product and process complexity that has increased due to these global trends.


In cross-company and multicultural collaborations processes are to be realized through interconnected operation cycles where the development of interacting components is done spatially distributed but at the same time. The demand of product flexibility and versatility brings forward products with a multitude of models and options. Thus, a life-cycle oriented approach to products and their related service gains more and more importance.


Against this background, the effective and efficient management of information deriving from engineering processes is a decisive factor for the economic success. The term “information management” not only incorporates the operative and information processing work of engineers and managers but also all aspects of administering and organising these activities and processes. With respect to these challenges and requirements, the institute for information management in engineering (Institut für Informationsmanagement im Ingenieurwesen - IMI) compiles innovative, practice-oriented methodical and information technological solutions. With its work, IMI contributes to securing and expanding the competitiveness of research and industry.


The aim of our research and development work is the integration of Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) and CAx in process and system view supplemented by Virtual Reality (VR) and Augmented Reality (AR) in order to create a high-end visualization that is part of modern working environments. This enables the interactive and immersive work with virtual prototypes during generation, validation, and optimization of development results and thus considerably adds to an effective and efficient collaboration of interdisciplinary teams. This also applies particularly to distributed product creation in cross-company and intercultural cooperations with other businesses.


In order to ensure immediate relevance for industry practices we greatly emphasize intensive collaboration with industrial enterprises to identify and define new subject areas, and to produce results. In addition to the participation of companies in national and international research projects further cooperation options are available, i.e. technology monitoring / screening, technology road-mapping, projects for company customized tasks as well as the supervision of student research projects and theses.

Jivka Ovtcharova

Home | english | Impressum | KIT

Wettbewerbsfähigkeit braucht Innovation

Herzlich willkommen am IMI
Jivka Ovtcharova
Jivka Ovtcharova

Für Unternehmen sind heute mehr denn je schnelle, zielgerichtete Innovationsprozesse entscheidend, aus denen technisch und wirtschaftlich überlegene Produkte resultieren. Im Marktumfeld spielten dabei grundlegende individuelle, gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Trends eine Rolle, zum Beispiel eine zunehmend von Emotionen bestimmte Sicht vieler Kunden auf technische Produkte, veränderte demografische Strukturen, verstärktes Umweltbewusstsein, zunehmende Mobilität und die weltweite Vernetzung von Unternehmen und Märkten, sowie die Interdisziplinarität moderner technischer Produkte. Die Beherrschung der infolge dieser globalen Trends erhöhten Produkt- und Prozesskomplexität ist zur wesentlichen Herausforderung für die entwickelnde und produzierende Industrie geworden.

Auf Prozessseite sind vernetzte Arbeitsabläufe in unternehmensübergreifenden, multikulturellen Kollaborationen zu realisieren, in denen die Entwicklung sich gegenseitig beeinflussender Komponenten räumlich verteilt und zeitlich parallel erfolgt. Auf Produktseite resultiert die geforderte Flexibilität und Vielseitigkeit in einer Vielfalt von Modellen und Optionen. Eine lebenszyklusorientierte Betrachtung von Produkten und zugehörigen Dienstleistungen steht zunehmend im Vordergrund.

Das effektive und effiziente Management der Information, die in Engineering-Prozessen verarbeitet und kommuniziert wird, ist vor diesem Hintergrund von zentraler Bedeutung für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Der Begriff Informationsmanagement umfasst dabei über die operativen, Information verarbeitenden Tätigkeiten von Ingenieuren und Managern hinaus auch alle Aspekte der Verwaltung und Organisation dieser Aktivitäten und Prozesse. Das Institut für Informationsmanagement im Ingenieurwesen (IMI) erarbeitet hierzu innovative, praxisgerechte methodische und informationstechnische Lösungen und trägt somit zur Sicherung und zum Ausbau des Wettbewerbsvorsprungs von Forschung und Industrie bei.

Das Leitbild unserer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit ist die Integration von produktlebensphasenübergreifendem Informationsmanagement (Product Lifecycle Management - PLM) und CAx in Prozess- und Systemsicht ergänzt um Virtual Reality (VR) und Augmented Reality (AR) zur High-End-Visualisierung als moderne Arbeitsumgebung. Dies ermöglicht ein interaktives, immersives Arbeiten mit virtuellen Prototypen bei Generierung, Validierung und Optimierung von Entwicklungsergebnissen und trägt somit maßgeblich zur effektiven und effizienten Zusammenarbeit interdisziplinärer Teams bei. Dies gilt insbesondere auch für die verteilte Produktentstehung in unternehmensübergreifenden und interkulturellen Unternehmenspartnerschaften.

Wir legen großen Wert auf intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Industrieunternehmen, um bei der Identifikation und Definition neuer Themenfelder und der Erarbeitung von Lösungen stets unmittelbare Praxisrelevanz sicherzustellen. Neben der Beteiligung von Firmen an nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten bestehen als weitergehende Kooperationsmöglichkeiten u.a. Technologiemonitoring/-screening, Technologie-Roadmapping, Projekte zu firmenindividuellen Aufgabenstellungen, sowie die Betreuung von Studien- und Diplomarbeiten mit industriellen Themenstellungen.

 

Jivka Ovtcharova